yoga and the world economy, Obama is fading

Yesterday I went to a wonderful yoga class in California where everyone in yoga looks like an ad for life in Marin county: fit, lovely and cheerful.I have to admit I like the look as well as the feeling. What can I say? I like it when people are friendly to me and act as if they are happy to spend a few minutes chatting with me.I like feeling as if I am in  a safe place where people are not hostile nor are they bitter, angry or jealous. Life is infinitely easier when we are surrounded by those who love us and who enjoy our company. Now that I have gotten that off my chest let’s move on to the world. At the end of yoga class the teacher thanked us for sharing the space in such a careful manner and being so aware of our neighbors. She went on to add that it would be a good thing if the world could learn to do this as well. This Thursday most of the leaders of the free world are meeting in London and for one day their agenda will be about the current economic crisis  and possible solutions. Obama is going to London with a big speech in his head and the desire to gather all the world leaders under his umbrella. He needs to have this happen as without the support and agreement of these countries his economic bailout plan will not work. If other world leaders decide not to support the idea of a stimulus package, we will be in big trouble. I think we will be in big trouble.

Why in the world would other countries go along with our ridiculous economic stimulus package and agree to pour their own money down the drain right along with us? The stimulus package is so enormous most people don’t even know how many zero’s there are in the numbers being discussed. It is as if we are all playing Monopoly and the bank just keeps passing out money to all the players because there happens to be a lot of extra paper money in the board game box.It is meaningless. More and more cash being thrown at a problem that was created by the careless use of cash.Obama is beginning to sound and look like Alfred E Neuman reading his text from the teleprompter and desperately trying to look strong, intelligent and in control of the situation. Mind you, I don’t think that anyone else could have done any better. Obama is the sacrificial lamb of today’s economy: his youth and inexperience will begin to make him look undependable just as those charactericstics made him so appealing to so many last fall. There is no way this poor guy will end out a winner and rescue us from disaster. No one can do this. I think we should all consider sharing space in a good way as we do in yoga class yet I know I am being unrealistic. No one can change human nature.

One Comment on “yoga and the world economy, Obama is fading

  1. Respecting and not coveting our neighbor’s space would, indeed, slove most of the world’s problems. But the word “covet” pops up in all religions, and I think there’s a reason (human nature). Our nation did not fall overnight. My opinion is the birth of the credit card began the end. When our daughter moved in with us holding her 5-month-old baby, Austin Foley, in her arms, she did not realize that the baby would start getting VISA, Mastercard, etc. offers “based on his excellent credit rating” within six weeks. Right then and there I realized we were in trouble. Next thing I noticed was “no down payment.” What? The end.

Leave a Reply

